The controversy over the video assistant referees was brought back into focus again as Royal Antwerp was awarded a controversial penalty against Rangers described as “scandalous” by Ally Maquist.
As the match alerted 1-1, Lior Raphaelov fell under the challenge Stephen DavisReferee Georgy Kabakov indicated the penalty point.
The Israeli international ascended to turn however Notifications Players were angry that VAR was not interfering with.
However, there are strict rules about when video assistants can invite a referee to review their decision.
For objective decisions like offside or wrong identity, the man in the middle would simply be informed of the error, but for anything else Kabakov had to review it himself.
The referee can only be called in to review “clear and visible errors” on the stadium screen.
VAR could not claim a review without “clear evidence of gross error,” and Davis held his leg up no matter how little contact.
So the accident is unlikely to happen UEFAThe guiding principles of the error are clear and clear, as the referee saw the connection and deemed it worthy of a penalty.
In the BT Sport studio between the two halves although critics were unanimous in their belief that it should have been turned.
It’s a scandalous decision, McCuest insisted.
“I am embarrassed that Raphaelov will come here, but I am equally, if not more, embarrassed to Kabakov, the Bulgarian referee.
“This is embarrassing to say the least and look at the verdict, he’s watching. He’s definitely watching.
“Do you know the problem we’re facing? We’ve already got Video Assistant Referee (VAR) technology that exacerbates error judgment.”
His fellow critics Alan Hutton agreed, insisting that the decision had met the minimum required for repeal.
He said: For me, this is a clear and explicit error from the judgment.
So they have to look at it. Barely touch it!
“If we look at it again, Rafaelov is a decent player and he doesn’t have to be relegated.
“He catches the ball really well and falls.
So, to me, this is a mistake of judgment.
“If you look at it one more time, nobody will be carrying out this punishment.”
And things tied in the second half despite the withdrawal of Alfredo Morelos’s shirt, and after reviewing the VAR referee, a penalty kick scored by Borna Barisic was awarded.